Tags

The End Of The Year Book Tag:

In an entirely unheard of turn of events I’m actually responding to a tag the same day that I was tagged in it. Yes you read that correctly. I do still have a major backlist of tags to get through (I have them all in my drafts, honestly) but I figured that I’d make the effort to get to this end of the year tag on time. Thank you so much to Jan @ Inkspun Tales for tagging me to do this. All of you should definitely go check out their answers as well. This tag was created by Ariel Bisette over on Youtube.

Are there any books you started this year that you need to finish?

I only read one book at a time so no, not really. There is one book that I tried to read earlier this year and couldn’t get into but I’ve decided to hold off on giving it another attempt until my TBR is slightly less out of control. So really the best fit for this answer is A Curse For True Love which I’m counting down the days to. Technically it’s not a book that I’ve started but I did finally begin the series earlier this year and now I’m anticipating – and dreading, due to the angst risk – this finale.

Do you have an autumnal book to transition into the end of the year?

I want to say Empire of The Vampire as I’m leaning towards reading it at the end of the month due to the Halloween vibes that it gives me. But as I’m determined not to repeat any answers from my Ten Books/Series To Read Before The End Of The Year post I’d have to say Cursed. I adored Gilded when I read it last year and am eagerly anticipating a re-read before finally diving into the finale fairly soon.

Is there a new release you’re still waiting for?

Quite a few actually but I’ll be good and stick to sharing just two of them. Firstly there’s The Ruined which I cannot wait to devour. I adored the first two books in The Beauautiful series but somehow haven’t gotten around to reading my copy of The Righteous yet. So December is looking like the perfect time for a re-read/binge session.

If anyone wants to know my most anticipated release that’s not a sequel though that would have to be Starling House. In the past I absolutely adored The Ten Thousand Doors Of January and The Once And Future Witches. And then this book has the bonus of sounding gloriously Gothic. So let’s just say it better not disappoint.

What are three books you want to read before the end of the year?

I honestly can’t believe that I haven’t gotten around to reading Belladonna or Little Thieves yet. Both sound incredible and I am over the moon excited to finally get to them. Plus Waterstones has sold half price hardbacks after Christmas for the last few years so I’m kind of hoping that they’ll do the same again this year. Then, if I end up falling for both of these books as I long to, I can treat myself to their sequels during the sale.

Thirdly there’s Chain Of Thorns. The only reason that I haven’t devoured this yet is because it’s yet another sequel where I long to re-read the previous installments first. So far The Last Hours series is shaping up to be my favourite by the author. The romances in it are particularly angst ridden and oh how I adore it.

Is there a book you think could still shock you and become your favourite book of the year?

Well with The Scarlet Veil currently reigning as my favourite book of 2023 the competition is extremely tough. I’d like to think that, given how much I’ve adored the previous books within the series, that the sequels that I’ve previously mentioned in this post would stand a chance though. In an effort not to repeat myself I’ll go for All Of Our Demise. I’m currently re-reading All Of Us Villains and this book is just as gloriously dark and decadent as I remember. It’s a Hunger Games style competition with magic yet as the title suggests all of it’s characters are certainly more on the villainous side. So here’s hoping that the sequel will prove to be just as glorious as book one.

Have you already started making reading plans for next year?

Yep. My TBR is insane and I’m supposed to be concentrating on tackling it but I still have most of My Most Anticipated Releases Of 2024 post written up. There are a handful of books that I need to write about but I’m waiting to see if their full blurbs release first and a couple of maybes to decide about. Plus I need to actually check out some of Goodreads many lists but the framework – and way too many books – are already written up and eagerly anticipated.

I’ve also trying to be sensible though and plan to catch up on some of my most anticipated series of previous years before their latest installments release. That way I’ll be up to date, everything will be fresh in my mind and I’ll know whether or not they’re actually worth investing in.


The Questions:
  • Are there any books you started this year that you need to finish?
  • Do you have an autumnal book to transition into the end of the year?
  • Is there a new release you’re still waiting for?
  • What are three books you want to read before the end of the year?
  • Is there a book you think could still shock you and become your favourite book of the year?
  • Have you already started making reading plans for next year?
I Tag:

Anoushka @ Dipped In Ink
Sophie @ Me & Ink
Suhani : Random Reader’s Rambles

Obviously there’s no pressure to do this tag but if you do I look forward to reading your answers.

Are there any books that you need to read before the end of the year? Are there any new releases that you’re still waiting for? Have you started your 2024 reading plans yet?

14 thoughts on “The End Of The Year Book Tag:

  1. OH MY GOSH CHARLOTTE TWO POSTS IN A MONTH?? THAT’S INSANE AND WILD AND AN UTTER SURPRISE AND I LOVE IT. SO MUCH. am maybe thinking i should scour the internet for every end-of-year book tag i can find and write them up so that i can tag you and have an endless supply of your posts to read.

    ahem. anyway. DID I MENTION I LOVE THIS AND THE FACT THAT YOU POSTED?? because i do. i read the caraval trilogy back in 2021 or something when i first started blogging, and WOW i do not have good memories of the entire experience. i was kind of just counting down the pages until it would all end starting from the midway point of the first book hahah. SO I NEED TO ASK: is the once upon a broken heart series better?? AND WHAT DO YOU THINK OF IT SO FAR?

    this is the first time ive EVER heard of starling house BUT HJGFJHFNF IT SOUNDS SO GOOD I WANT TO READ IT TOO. HOW DARE YOU CHARLOTTE.

    all of us villains has always sounded ridiculously intriguing but you describing it as “gloriously dark and decadent”?? I WANT. i hope you love the sequel!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you, I’m glad you’re happy that I posted πŸ˜… that sounds like it would be one hell of a lot of tags though πŸ˜‚ and I do technically have posts to share (I have over 250 in my drafts) I just keep putting off uploading them as I don’t know where to start & have so much to catch up on πŸ™ˆ

      Thanks again ❀️❀️ I liked the Caraval series too so it’s pretty hard to say tbh. The new series doesn’t have a Caraval game taking place and is set in the same world but heads to a whole other section of it. One of the main characters is Jacks so I guess it depends on how you found him. The first of the sequel trilogy was probably my least favourite by the author (I still enjoyed it though) whereas the second is undeniably my favourite. I love the dynamics of the relationship but if you weren’t a fan of Jacks then it probably wouldn’t be for you as he’s a major part of it.

      Ah I so hope it’s as good as it sounds. Have you read any of the authors books?

      Ooh yay does that mean I’ve tempted you to another book? πŸ˜‚ thank you. Hopefully i will. Although i can imagine it’ll be the sort of book that hurts.

      Like

    1. Thank you. Ooh that’s wonderful, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Sometimes going into books with no expectations is the best way, I found a few new favourites within the gothic genre that way this year. Thank you, it should hopefully be pretty soon 🀞

      Like

  2. How has All of Us Villains completely slipped past my radar?? It sounds super interesting!! 🀩 I’ll definitely have to see if I can find a copy somewhere…

    Unfortunately, I didn’t like Chain of Thorns much, though πŸ˜… Then again, The Last Hours generally didn’t convince me that much compared to the previous Shadowhunter series, so hopefully, you won’t have the same problem! Fingers crossed you’ll enjoy that book and all others on your TBR!! 🀞🏻

    Also, will you please give me some of your incredibly tag responding skills? I’m literally YEARS behind on mine, so responding to a tag the day I was tagged sounds like absolute sorcery to me 🀣

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh I really hope you enjoy it when you manage to find a copy. If you do end up enjoying it the authors have another book that they’ve written together out next year.

      Aww that’s a shame to hear. I really love the complicated situation with Cordelia & James. And I adore Matthew so hopefully it’ll be ok 🀞 thank you. I hope you enjoy the next Shadowhunter series more if you read it. Or Sword Catcher if its on your tbr.

      Oh I promise I really don’t have skills in general. I think I owe about 17 others atm from before I disappeared. I’m just very aware of my reading hopes for the rest of this year & was in the mood to get on and answer this one πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. i loved reading all your answers! ooohhh yes i’m waiting for a curse for true love as well – after how the previous book ended, i simply MUST know what happened. and starling house looks so intriguing, i judge books by their covers a lot and that cover is giving GOTHIC.

    i loved both belladonna and little thieves!!! i hope you enjoy them when you get to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Yes same here, having to wait after that ending was cruel. And tbh I’m kind of scared as to how things will end. Oh I do the same although I do adore the premise of that one. Im always more likely to get a book in print if it has a pretty cover πŸ˜‚

      Ooh that’s good to know. Thank you ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on doing the tag the same day as you were tagged πŸŽ‰ I didn’t know it was possible πŸ˜‚ it was lovely to read your answers and thank youuu for the tag ❀️
    I actually got to see some covers to sequels I don’t remember seeing before, the ruined and all of our demise (such an intriguing concept)! Hope you enjoy them both 😍
    I tend to read one book at a time as well. I hope you enjoy the final once upon a broken heart book. It’s been a well loved series! Do you have a favourite character from them?
    Maybe next year I will start one of these series you adore 😁
    Happy Reading ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t either until now πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ thank you ❀️❀️
      The Ruined isn’t out until December so maybe thats why for that one. And I think I used the US cover for All Of Our Demise πŸ˜‚ it’s always fun seeing new covers though. And I loved the second of them thank you. I’ll let you know what I think of The Ruined once its out.
      I think if I tried reading more than one the one I was most into would take priority then I’d end up picking up something new & forgetting the other book πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ
      Thank you. Fingers crossed. My copy turned up today so I’m hoping to start it tonight (as long as my head improves as I have a lingering headache atm). Definitely Jacks 😍😍😍 there’s a reason so many people fawn over him 🀣🀣 I find most characters interesting though. I’m not a fan of Apollo but I am intrigued to see what he’ll do in the finale.
      If you do let me know.
      Thank you, Happy Reading to you as well ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha well done πŸ˜‚
        Maybe! New covers are fun especially when a sequel to see if they match the others well.
        Fingers crossed 🀞🏻
        Yeah reading multiple books can surely leading to one getting left behind. When I have read more than one at a time, I felt urgency to finish them all. Way too much pressure πŸ˜‚
        Aw.. I hope you headache improved and haha fan favourites are usually that for a reason 😁
        Sound good, intriguing actions are what I like. I will.
        Thank youuu ❀️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes true. Although sometimes rather frustrating when they don’t match. Especially if you loved the old design.

        Aww I can see how that would happen. Definitely easier and more relaxing to focus on one.

        Thank you ❀️❀️ and yes, they do tend to be.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment